Be a Supporter!

midimachinemidimachine

Main News Movies Audio Favorites Reviews Stats 302 Fans
Follow midimachine

All 181 audio Reviews


Dark Skys (WIP) Dark Skys (WIP)

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 4, 2010

niice

oh man, this synth at the start reminds me of OSI so much. particularly the song "Horseshoes and B-52s". in fact the way this whole thing plays out so far is rather like them too except for the drums which are more jumpy and playful. i really like where you're going with this!

watch the levels of everything because you have a bit of clipping which is really noticable when the kick is trying to pump through. with bass guitars i usually roll off everything below 80Hz and that probably sounds counter-intuitive BUT it gives the kick drum room to pump in the sub. same goes for electric guitars in general, roll off stuff at 120-150Hz to give room to the bass. when everything has it's own place in a mix like this it can make things sound so much clearer and heavier.


Maskeddude responds:

Hey thanks much for the heads up on the clipping. I haven't tossed it through an equalizer yet but I will definitely pay closer attention.


Subjugate (Build 1.0 Instrmt.) Subjugate (Build 1.0 Instrmt.)

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 31, 2010

is there reaaaaaally room?

if you throw down some harder drums i can see this getting a bit hairy unless you rock some sidechaining but this instrumental on its own is well mixed and spacious. some pretty outrageous panning with the nasty glitch synths, but that's the way i like it... big broad stereo images are where it's at now.

very few people use synth guitars as well as you do, self included. are you rocking any external amp simulators? nice distinct guitar tone here...

okay i like this but you must see this through to completion!


People find this review helpful!
StaticStigma responds:

Wow, thanks man! I'm actually extremely suprised at how well this song is being recieved. I'm hoping I'll be able to salvage the project file off my crashed laptop so I actually can finish it. I began adding sound samples, and if you want I could link you a couple tests. It was getting pretty rediculous.

As for the synth guitar, I used ReFX Slayer 2, tweaked the hell out of it, and did a shitload of EQ. Nothing special was really added to it at all. I'm glad it's actually enjoyable, hahaha! I also use a lot of note velocity tweaks to make sure no single note ever sounds the same.

Thanks for the review, and I hope I'll be able to recover this beasts project file so I can blow you all away, I guess, haha!


Elfire - Zombies and cocaine Elfire - Zombies and cocaine

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 10, 2010

weeeeeeeeeeee

sick backbeat noise and backing percs. kick is nice and solid with tasty fuzz underneath, v good.

felt like to me it was going to build up to something completely sick and noisy but kind of fizzled out in the last section but it loops quite nicely which is cool.

so yeah in general very nice production and sound design. you just need to make it climax a bit more heavily (twss!)


People find this review helpful!

Fruity loops tester :) Fruity loops tester :)

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars May 4, 2010

sliiick

some nice grating distortion here and there, interesting percussion and what not.

very bass heavy mix so i feel some pointers about bass are in order. make sure that you don't have more than one bassy instrument playing at a time (and if you do make sure that they're tuned to the same pitch, or an octave above/below each other).

keep low-end sounds in mono. there's a simsynth boom patch that comes in hard and fills the left and right with bass, in headphones this is very unpleasant to listen to. having a well balanced and interesting stereo image is a good thing, try panning the other percussion elements to different (yet relatable) places.

anyway this is a decent job for a first time. the more you use FL and read about how to do stuff the easier it is to use, and the cool thing about it is that eight years on i'm still learning new stuff i can do with it. hope to see more from you.



(SA) 8-bit fun (SA) 8-bit fun

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

not really 8 bit but

cool melody and adheres to 4 note polyphony (2 square, 1 triangle, 1 noise).

if you were transfer this score as is into a program such as famitracker this would sound 100% authentic, no doubt. some weird harmonic movements at places but otherwise pretty solid, all things considered.


SeriousAdam responds:

Thanks hehe i tried


"HardStyle" WIP "HardStyle" WIP

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 6, 2010

HARD NRG WOO

this reminds me of the tracks i was diggin between 2000 and 2003. hard nrg stuff like brooklyn bounce, dj scot project and that jazz. so as far as whether or not this is happy hardcore or hardstyle everyone is completely wrong. HARD NRG woo!

there are parts where the master track seems way over compressed (especially that bandpass filtered sweep at 1:38-ish) so maybe pull some of the levels back on the background synths and lower the wet mix of some reverbs. the way it loops is pretty convinving, i wasn't watching the progress bar so i thought everything just dropped out and the piano came back in. so... maybe just drop that back in to get the track moving again idk.

production is a wee bit dated, nrg well and truly went out of vogue in like 2005 but it's a good listen with a great lead



I Heart 8-Bit I Heart 8-Bit

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 3, 2010

cuteee

i'd like to hear this with all the reverb off the drums, especially the kick since it makes the low end of the mix very messy. probably take the volume of the kick and backbeat noise down a few dB too. dry drum sounds can have a very nice retro feel.

that said, i quite like the melody and progression and general instrumentation/sound design despite the excessive reverb. sweeeet beans!


People find this review helpful!

Blades of Hattori Hanzo Blades of Hattori Hanzo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2010

shhhhhhhhhpongley

very nice psy stuff, the leads and chorusey percussion remind of sonicanimation a lot which is pretty great. the gradually increased triplet rolling on some of the leads is something i've never heard before though, refreshing to listen to.

its 3am so i can't pick anything bad about this atm. dont dig the organ sound around 3m50s but idk i might listen to this tomorrow and think it's the shit so whatever. brill track.


S3C responds:

thanks for the review man :]


Gatekeeper of the Necropo Gatekeeper of the Necropo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2010

bitchin

gorgeous progression, i'd probably end up doing something dumb like compress and bandpass filter the strings so they sound old but idk this is slick.

feels like nobuo vs tchaikovsky to me


S3C responds:

i actually did that to one of the choir sounds haha. and thanks for another review, I probably owe you one or two now.


My Name is Tom My Name is Tom

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2010

heh

i'm guessing by all instruments you actually mean EVERYTHING which is cooool... voice pitch to midi conversion or whateverrr.

dicks!


People find this review helpful!