Be a Supporter!

midimachinemidimachine

Main News Movies Audio Favorites Reviews Stats 292 Fans
Follow midimachine

All 178 audio Reviews


Fruity loops tester :) Fruity loops tester :)

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars May 4, 2010

sliiick

some nice grating distortion here and there, interesting percussion and what not.

very bass heavy mix so i feel some pointers about bass are in order. make sure that you don't have more than one bassy instrument playing at a time (and if you do make sure that they're tuned to the same pitch, or an octave above/below each other).

keep low-end sounds in mono. there's a simsynth boom patch that comes in hard and fills the left and right with bass, in headphones this is very unpleasant to listen to. having a well balanced and interesting stereo image is a good thing, try panning the other percussion elements to different (yet relatable) places.

anyway this is a decent job for a first time. the more you use FL and read about how to do stuff the easier it is to use, and the cool thing about it is that eight years on i'm still learning new stuff i can do with it. hope to see more from you.



(SA) 8-bit fun (SA) 8-bit fun

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 27, 2010

not really 8 bit but

cool melody and adheres to 4 note polyphony (2 square, 1 triangle, 1 noise).

if you were transfer this score as is into a program such as famitracker this would sound 100% authentic, no doubt. some weird harmonic movements at places but otherwise pretty solid, all things considered.


SeriousAdam responds:

Thanks hehe i tried


"HardStyle" WIP "HardStyle" WIP

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 6, 2010

HARD NRG WOO

this reminds me of the tracks i was diggin between 2000 and 2003. hard nrg stuff like brooklyn bounce, dj scot project and that jazz. so as far as whether or not this is happy hardcore or hardstyle everyone is completely wrong. HARD NRG woo!

there are parts where the master track seems way over compressed (especially that bandpass filtered sweep at 1:38-ish) so maybe pull some of the levels back on the background synths and lower the wet mix of some reverbs. the way it loops is pretty convinving, i wasn't watching the progress bar so i thought everything just dropped out and the piano came back in. so... maybe just drop that back in to get the track moving again idk.

production is a wee bit dated, nrg well and truly went out of vogue in like 2005 but it's a good listen with a great lead



I Heart 8-Bit I Heart 8-Bit

Rated 4 / 5 stars April 3, 2010

cuteee

i'd like to hear this with all the reverb off the drums, especially the kick since it makes the low end of the mix very messy. probably take the volume of the kick and backbeat noise down a few dB too. dry drum sounds can have a very nice retro feel.

that said, i quite like the melody and progression and general instrumentation/sound design despite the excessive reverb. sweeeet beans!


People find this review helpful!

Blades of Hattori Hanzo Blades of Hattori Hanzo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2010

shhhhhhhhhpongley

very nice psy stuff, the leads and chorusey percussion remind of sonicanimation a lot which is pretty great. the gradually increased triplet rolling on some of the leads is something i've never heard before though, refreshing to listen to.

its 3am so i can't pick anything bad about this atm. dont dig the organ sound around 3m50s but idk i might listen to this tomorrow and think it's the shit so whatever. brill track.


S3C responds:

thanks for the review man :]


Gatekeeper of the Necropo Gatekeeper of the Necropo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2010

bitchin

gorgeous progression, i'd probably end up doing something dumb like compress and bandpass filter the strings so they sound old but idk this is slick.

feels like nobuo vs tchaikovsky to me


S3C responds:

i actually did that to one of the choir sounds haha. and thanks for another review, I probably owe you one or two now.


My Name is Tom My Name is Tom

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars April 2, 2010

heh

i'm guessing by all instruments you actually mean EVERYTHING which is cooool... voice pitch to midi conversion or whateverrr.

dicks!


People find this review helpful!

zebramuscles zebramuscles

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars January 2, 2010

ehhh

when you have one extremely bassy instrument in a track you need to take the low frequencies out of everything else otherwise the low end of the mix sounds awwwwful on subs.

it's also not a great idea to reverberate low frequencies unless there isn't a whole lot going on in the rest of the mix.

tune was pretty strange and incoherant but not cringe-worthy.


sailingships responds:

the problem is all the stuff i make is mixed on older speakers, not bad ones, but the sub is blown. sometimes ill use headphones too... but thanks for the tip ill keep it in mind.


Seltzer's... Seltzer's...

Rated 3 / 5 stars January 2, 2010

holy moly

that's an insane amount of reverb on the snare and cymbals. makes everything all washy sounding, it really should have a lot less delay.

most of the synths are overpowering the drums somehow but the composition is interesting.


Seltzer responds:

I'll have to agree with you there. I had meant to mess with some of the levels a bit, but I kind of got caught up in the whole "Holy crap, it's done." thing.


3xOsc Only 3xOsc Only

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 2, 2010

oh man

it's really a bit basic sounding considering all the filter and envelope settings available. it's a good effort though, keep it up :)

i did a 3xOsc only song like 3 years ago and this made me feeling like putting it on the AP but i've already submitted two songs tonight so bah :(