Be a Supporter!

midimachinemidimachine

Main News Movies Audio Favorites Reviews Stats 308 Fans
Follow midimachine

All 198 audio Reviews


Follow Me Follow Me

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 8, 2013

i don't like how the piano feels in this, like it just goes BANG and cuts out immediately. doesn't feel right to me in this song.
and for me that first riff is kinda annoying to listen to even once, so the repetition isn't really the issue haha
otherwise, i enjoyed the second half of the track and those distorted backing synths in particular are really nice.



Absolute Wave Absolute Wave

Rated 3 / 5 stars July 7, 2013

if it makes you feel any better i thought most of the transitions were fine, but you could probably shape them more so that the abrupt parts come in more dramatically.

like, what i mean by shaping would be like having the guitar fade in very quietly like a bar before it's mean to start playing, but only fade up to a fraction of the full volume so that it still comes in really hard... aaaagh it's difficult to explain. but it gives the "drops" (pardon the term) a lot of extra energy and makes abrupt transitions feel a lot more purposeful (AND a lot more abrupt, sometimes)

you won't always need to do that, but i find it really helps make "abrupt" changes feel more natural even if the effect is reaaaally subtle

mix could be a lot tighter, too much reverb imo (try a higher cutoff frequency and shorter delay)
or even if it was less wet and more selective, not every instrument should have the same amount of reverb in most situations
also everything is trying to be the same volume and stepping over the other instruments places in the spectrum (mainly in the bass region). when this is happening you should be using EQ to cut holes in one instrument to make room for another. look up "subtractive mixing", i'm really bad at explaining it haha

anyway the composition was alright and i can hear where you've made some interesting and unique choices, especially in that one arpeggio.



VL - Nothing Goes My Way VL - Nothing Goes My Way

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 6, 2013

not epic symphonic tiesto dream trance, this sux
worst review ever, i am sorry.

no okay here are some actual thoughts:
kick could do with some more oomph i think.
the pitch bends on that one ping-pong delay'd synth are wacky but they sound really cool
too much intro, or maybe it's just that it's all DJ-friendly and stuff. anyway i feel like the intro lingers too long, but if it was a really soft and sensual intro of the same length you could build it up so the big sections come in more dramatically. at the moment it feels like it just runs out of steam

also the main melody is very noodly and not very memorable
but the middle section is grrrrrrrreat. awkward transition back into the 4x4 beat though. make trancey breaks 4 lyf.

fuckin, opinions n shit :v

overall it was really nicely layered and stuff and mixed pretty damn well except for the kick, but i'm starting to have second thoughts about that actually. that clapsnare is really slick.



{RGH} - Rose Gardens {RGH} - Rose Gardens

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 6, 2013

intro sounds very dry
OH these are like general midi samples.
i like how the arrangement picks up at ~ 1:20. the really bassy bass is too bassy, though - it's causing some some intermodulation with the kickdrum and it's nasty!
next section that builds up at ~ 2:00 is cool, i like the way the drums fade in. the synth choice is very new wave haha. the arpeggios at the end are pretty sweet, that repeated minor chord on the sine-y sorta patch is a touch loud though.
yeah, the fadeout is a bit of a cop-out, innit? generally the song is lacking direction and cohesiveness and yeaaah i get that it's stream of consciousness BUT i feel like you'd be better off making a couple of songs based around the various motifs in this; instead of having one forgettable listen you can make two or three really memorable ones.


RyeGuyHead responds:

I just got my hands on some Native Instruments plug-ins, so my sound quality should be looking up soon...


Souless Souless

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 4, 2013

the way the guitar volume drops off at 0:12 is really unnatural, gotta let the palm and the reverb do the work there
other stuff is played pretty naturally but sounds "sampled" (not a deal breaker), there's a little triplet/3-3-2 bit at the end of each measure of that main riff though and it sounds percussive instead of strummed, like someone playing a guitar sound on a keyboard.
for the snare rolls, have you got a multisampled drumkit? the snare has that machine-gun effect in the fills, just needs some different samples of the same drum for the softer hits.
didn't really notice much else with the sequencing. pretty solid!

the other thing is that the lead guitar could probably sound more... forward i guess? it's drowning in reverb and it's pushing the solos and licks behind everything else a little bit when they should be right up front. it's giving them this cold, muffled texture as well, not sure if you wanted that. there's too much reverb in general for my taste, but i guess it's well implemented and fits the song.

this is cool power metal-ey battle music sorta stuff! once it starts it doesn't really shift gears for long, i think you could fit an extended bridge solo without drums and another repeat at the end with a big shred for the finish. NGADM-worthy!


Sielumetsien responds:

Yes sir you were totally right, the instruments were samples and tracked on modplug (I'm still struggling on instrument editing). The snares were also sampled, I only tracked them on small amount of random volumes so they sound really artificial. I couldn't load many VSTs at the same time so I had to record them to WAV.


Fear Fear

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 4, 2013

daaamn. liking the big sub drops and that spooky grime synth.
the rhyming vocals come in too strong but they sound sick.
drop was a little disappointing but that highpass bass is pretty cool. o, i turned the volume up and now i'm less disappointed haha. i like how it switches up to a 4x4 feel, but the extra kicks give it more energy and the transition doesn't feel abrupt or out of place.
the next part at 3:00 is siiiiick.

overall the mix could use some more polish and the drums should punch through more. maybe get a big group sidechain going with a short release just so you get that CLICK of the kick and SNAP of the snare nice and strong. a bit more stereo movement (bit of panning, widening somewhere) would be sweet too. reviewed on headphones (but good ones, trust!)

where's that vocal part from man? is that recorded or sampled from something? i wanna scout you but i just want to be sure first (nothin' personal!). good work!



Anaconda Anaconda

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 4, 2013

oh man, this is a mixed bag!
liking the elements of ragga and liquid in the intro, and then that big reese and spooky lead that comes out... i was thinking "hey maybe a highpass sweep would be cool here" and then you delivered haha
this next bass is fat as fuck, nice one. amens are nice and clear but could maybe use some... zazz? not necessarily slicing but some filter movement or something like the highpass treatment it gets at 3:20-ish
i feel like this is 3 shorter tracks mixed together, but i like the way you tie everything together at the end. there's lots of energy without it being cliche swire-esque shit. kick could use some more click though, imo. opinions and shit, man!
refreshing listen!


Sequenced responds:

yeh not a big fan of the kick after a few days of not listening to it.

about that high pass sweep... we might have the same brain o.O


Your Mudkip Has Evolved Your Mudkip Has Evolved

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 1, 2013

not even chipstep you silly sod! <3


Quarl responds:

I kind of hate chip tune music.


Fly With Me Fly With Me

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 30, 2013

guy below me might've been trolling, but i think he was on to something. this does kinda feel like canned uplifting music to me, i think mainly because once it starts there's no real dynamic variation or development. the volume is just too consistent across the entire piece, it needs more little dips and peaks and varied articulartion (perhaps to emulate the energy of flight?), at the moment all the notes kinda blur into one another.

those instruments are nice but sound very "sampled", although i like that you wrote this in a tracker! i also like that you've set out with a clear goal for the composition of the piece and achieved it, it's very focused in its delivery.


Wurfel-Waffles responds:

Thank you for the extremely detailed and honest review. The some of the instruments were sampled. And I never this was the first time I use VSTi with ModPlug. Thanks again.


Symphony No.1 Movement 1 Symphony No.1 Movement 1

Rated 2 / 5 stars June 29, 2013

it's a bit generic, innit?
i mean it's more like a pop song with orchestral instruments that a symphony.
okay so it gets a lot better at the halfway point but these RSE instruments are a joke really.
the metal rhythms sound silly imo, totally undermine the tension you start to build up in the middle. sounds like a MIDI rip of early dream theater at the end (take that as a compliment!).

generally the song just lacks direction. it's equal parts coldplay b-side, dramatic orchestral music and wacky prog metal, and it would probably be a lot more palatable if it was completely one or the other.
i probably wouldn't ever listen to something like this ever again